The Way the Day Begins

I sleep, unwisely, right next to a large set of windows. On these long summer days, I’m woken in the morning by the diffuse, white sunlight before I need to be up for work — a terrible curse for a sleep-deprived midwife. I could move my bed, of course, but I just can’t give up staring at the stars at night. As a child I had a skylight right above my bed and I seem always to be trying to get back there.

Today I wake up slowly after a 5am rain to the sound of cars passing lazily through the puddles down below, convinced in my half-sleep that it’s the sound of waves breaking on the beach. I roll over to the open window and lay my head on the sill. The dregs of last night’s activities on my tiny street are still playing themselves out: a single firework from an unknown location explodes in a sharp crack, upsetting a yappy little white dog occupying a window frame across the way. A pair of teenagers sing to each other in a tipsy drawl. A woman wanders slowly up the sidewalk repeating, sing-song, Somebody please heeeeeelp me, somebody please…

Scenes of yesterday’s prenatal clinic replay drowsily in my head: the muffled feeling of babies’ elbows and feet rearranging themselves in utero under my probing hands. The woman with an infection so severe I can diagnose it on smell alone from five feet away. The minute I take to compose myself before telling a woman that her fetus has Down Syndrome. The Syrian woman whose previous prenatal records I try to obtain before she gently stops me: The hospital over there burned down, miss. Everything burned down.

I resign myself to being awake and push myself up against my pillows. I give a glace to the other side of the bed, to the place that used to be occupied by my husband, back when I was a wife. I pull on the worn jeans and white t-shirt that will be wet through with sweat by the time I finish my hour-long walk to the hospital in the early morning humidity. I am ready to leave my apartment in minutes.

I love my walk to work; I am treasuring it particularly now that I will soon be moving to a neighborhood far from the hospital where I was lucky enough to find a job a few months ago, my first real midwife job. My mornings will consist of a long subway journey from one end of New York City to another, overground and underground, and I’ll miss the strange landscape that I now wend my way through each day, making note of the objects strewn across the sidewalks like props leftover after the actors have taken their bows:

A stiffened brown sparrow that the flies have taken to; an open bag of half-eaten green grapes; a small pile of watermelon rinds right on the concrete corner. A single stiletto in matte gold, upright on its needle heel; a boxy TV overturned on its face. A calico deli cat, ears flattened in displeasure at my approaching step. Tiny ziploc baggies that last night held heroin or cocaine.

The faintest whisper of a particular sickly odor reaches my nostrils and I hold my breath before it can overwhelm; it is the smell of dead animals that leaks out from under the rolling metal shutters of a storefront market selling poultry, rabbits and guinea pigs.

On my right I pass a caged basketball court containing a teenage boy practicing his dribbling before-hours, the ball tied up tightly in plastic shopping bags to keep it looking brand new. The train clackety-clacks relentlessly overhead, mostly empty of passengers at this hour, as I turn the corner towards my hospital. I arrive at the front doors breathing heavily, full of energy, as the hot sun punches through the clouds overhead.

2 thoughts on “The Way the Day Begins

  1. My day begins with a little thankgiving prayer for simply working in a school library and not in health sciences. And when everything piles higher and deeper I force myself to breathe and enjoy the view.

    Great blog, I found it via a link to that famous article about fake Apple products, which I didn’t find but I don’t mind.

    I hope to be back soon. Greetings from Montevideo, Uruguay

    • Thanks so much, Julia — my school library was one of my favorite places. If you’d like to read the fake Apple posts, go to me “About Me” tab (they’re all linked there). Take care.

Leave a Reply

