Updates in Photos

Warning, if your internet connection is slow: this post features lots of pictures, because I’m WAY behind on posting photos I’ve been hanging onto for a while…

I’m writing from a hotel in Hanoi’s Old Quarter, where RP and I fled a few days ago after he emerged from behind a landslide and a particularly grueling period of fieldwork in NW Yunnan. Desperate to get out of the province during China’s National Day holiday, we hopped over the border to Vietnam. I’ll be posting stories and photos from China’s southern neighbor shortly (aren’t you curious to know what it’s like when  city is celebrating its 1,000th anniversary?!) but for now, catch up:

  • I stayed for the midwifery conference and explored Qingdao for another day before heading back to Kunming. I was particularly interested to hear Ngai Fen Cheung speak – she is a Scottish-educated Chinese midwife who has written a number of great papers about returning normal birth to China. So I followed her around for a while like a little midwifery groupie, then headed to downtown Qingdao to the museum (closed, but beautiful)…
    …and to eat some seafood, which was plentiful on the streets and complemented by a healthy helping of bugs!

    With the few hours I had before catching my plane back to Kunming, I walked around the former German colonial area and stopped by St. Michael’s Cathedral, built only in 1934, a scant 8 years before the Japanese took it over during WWII…

    Yes, I blew a lot of cash going to Qingdao for the weekend. But it was totally worth it. Click the little naked boy below for the rest of the weekend’s photos…

  • Since my own wedding, I’ve been to two more (which is a 300% increase in the number of weddings I’ve been to in my entire life). One was the charming white wedding of a friend in Massachusetts, the other was a wedding in Kunming that I think was trying to be the wedding in Massachusetts, without actually knowing it. It was the wedding of a coworker who is very interested in all things Western, and whose wedding reflected an attempt to have a Western white wedding, Kunming-style. In case you’re wondering what has made it into the Chinese version of a Western wedding, it includes the bride wearing a frothy white dress, walked down the aisle by her father…A cake-cutting during the ceremony…And the big finish of the ceremony – the bouquet toss! Caught by one of my male coworkers!There then followed a reception during which the groom serenaded the bride, clips from Pixar movies were shown, the bride and groom went up in a froth of bubbles, and the groom drank a disgusting mixture of whatever was on the dinner table, as is traditional.I would like to point out that my coworkers, upon seeing the photos from my and RP’s wedding, with all of the color/musicians/dancing in the streets, exclaimed, “Oh! It’s like a village wedding!!”For the rest of the Kunming white wedding photos, click the customary plate of candy, sunflower seeds and cigarettes below…

I think that’s enough photos. OH, but I didn’t even mention that the Mid-Autumn Festival has passed again! I actually managed to secure some nice moon cakes this year – ones that weren’t quite so disgusting! I was given them as a gift by my HR department, who offered them to me in pity, saying they were giving them to me because I am a foreigner, and it’s very sad that I was alone and not in my home country on this special day. They said it was to give me “a warm feeling”.

I told you last year that the packaging is more important than the cakes, right?

Also, because I work in public health, I got mini-moon cakes packaged with complementary condoms! So cute!

Enough! My next post will be Vietnam-related. Hope you’re having a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “Updates in Photos

Leave a Reply

