Friday Love List

There are a lot of things about living in China that annoy me in a minor way, or that bother me in a serious way. But I don’t really feel like focusing on them here (although one of them explains why my posting has been kind of infrequent recently: the fact that WordPress is censored makes it either difficult or impossible for me to post sometimes). So here is a brief list of things that I really like today:

  • MY BIG SISTER IT’S HER BIRTHDAY TODAY HAPPY BIRTHDAY M I LOVE YOU!!!!

Not nearly as good as my big sister, but still noteworthy are:

  • Cuihu (“TSWAY-hoo”): the big lake in the center of Kunming. I frequently go walking around it; it’s full of huge lily pads and always has interesting street life being played out nearby.
  • Baozi: steamed stuffed dumplings. These can be filled with a sweet paste or with various savory things. The one in the picture below is filled with mushrooms. I could eat these things all. day. long.
Mushroom baozi

Mushroom baozi

CHOMP

CHOMP

  • Kunming traffic controllers: True, they are 100% ineffective. But they take their jobs super-seriously, and this one guy is always shouting at people in a heavy Kunming accent to “KWAY ZO! KWAY ZO!” (Hurry up!!). They are totally humorless, which I find humorful.
Lady in red sash = traffic controller

Lady in red sash = traffic controller

  • My new bed fluff: Chinese beds are HARD. It’s like sleeping on a box spring. So you have to buy lots of fluffy stuff to put on top of them, and I think I recently achieved a decent amount of fluff given the amount of money I’m willing to spend on this ridiculousness. I finally woke up yesterday without my back aching.

Ok I think that’s it for now. I know it’s a short list, but I’m a little grumpy today.🙂

Here are some additional photos of the view out my office window (so you can see what “downtown” Kunming looks like from above), and the minor charm of my neighborhood, the Panlong River. (In real life it is black and sludgy and not charming, but it came out alright in the photo.)

Out my office window

Out my office window

Panlong River

Panlong River

Leave a Reply

